IUPAC survey

International Teacher Survey on Green and Sustainable Chemistry (GSC) Practical Activities

IUPAC Committee on Chemistry Education Project No.: 2023-002-2-050

Project team

Seamus Delaney
Madeleine Schultz
Iztok Devetak
Supawan Tantayanon
Tharani Dissanayake (project officer)


The objective of this project is to improve understanding of the use of practical work in high school chemistry classes, in particular in relation to the integration of concepts of sustainability. This will be achieved by undertaking a multi-country survey of secondary school chemistry teachers on their utilisation of practical activities, with a focus on green and sustainable chemistry (GSC) and circular economy (CE)-focused practical work.

The survey will be conducted online centrally but in the local language, facilitated by a country coordinator, ensuring the global representation of a project addressing an important issue (IUPAC Strategic Plan). Teachers completing the survey will be invited to be submit contemporary examples of GSC and CE-relevant practical activities.

Dissemination will include a project website, regional meetings, research evidence for Masters/PhD research in chemistry education, and symposium presentations at ICCE 2024 and other relevant conferences.

Country Coordinators

(note: this list will be updated weekly as more countries become involved)

Australia: Seamus Delaney
Austria: Anja Lembens
Bangladesh: Mohammad Shoeb
Bosnia and Hercegovina: Ines Nuić, Sabina Zero and Merima Mrdić
Cambodia: Sieng Huy
Canada: Andy Dicks and Ken Hoffman
Croatia: Roko Vladušić
Cyprus: Constantinos Korfiatis
Czech republic: Martin Rusek
Finland: Susanne Wiedmer
France: Romain Lucas
Germany: Nicole Graulich and Elias Herinrich
Hungary: Kovács Mihály and Murányi Zoltán
India: Brijesh Pare
Indonesia: Antuni Wiyarsi
Ireland: James Lovatt
Israel: Shelley Rap
Italy: Antonella Rossi
Japan: Hiroki Fujii
Kosovo: Fatlume Berisha
Malaysia: Rizafizah Othaman
Mexico: Ariadna Garza Ortiz
North Macedonia: Marina Stojanovska
Nepal: Jyoti Giri
New Zealand: Suzanne Boniface
Norway: Mukadder Baran
Philippines: Voltaire Mistades
Poland: Pawel Bernard
Portugal: Isabel Ribau Coutinho
Romania: Csilla Sogor
Serbia: Dušica Rodić, Saša Horvat and Tamara Rončević
Singapore: Fung Fun Man
Slovakia: Katarína Kotuľáková
Slovenia: Iztok Devetak and Anika Mugerli
Spain: Luis Moreno
Sri Lanka: A M Abeysekera
Switzerland: Matthias von Arx
Thailand: Supawan Tantayanon and Duangruthai Sridaeng
Türkiye: Sevil Akaygun and Mustafa Sözbilir
UK: Katherine Haxton
USA: Hannah Sevian
Uruguay: Sair Aparicio
Vietnam: Quan Thanh Huynh

If your country is not listed and you would like to be involved, email us .